Potty Training

About a month ago my 2 year old decided he was a big boy and no longer wanted to wear a diaper. Yay!!! No more diapers!!! He has been doing an amazing job with only a handfull of accidents since this decision he made for himself. He has two older brothers and always wants to do as they and their daddy do. I think that played into his decision and how easy potty training has been.
Friday evening my 5 year old had tee ball practice. My 2 year old wanted to play with the big boys so bad! He was heartbroken when they went out onto the field and he was left behind. He wailed and there was no consoling him so he and I went to the truck until he calmed down. I am on the Atkins diet so I always have a small snack handy for sudden urges. He found a bag of almonds and claimed them and also quieted down so we could go back to watch.
As I stood visiting with the other parents I would occasionally have to chase my little monster around the community building or intercept him as he tried to make a break for the baseball feild. I have to say, he is very persistent and when he has his mind made up, you cannot deter him.
He had been playing on the ground below our feet and running around our legs when suddenly he was not… I turned and looked behind me only to see him with his shorts around his ankles peeing in the parking lot. I was mortified! I ran to him, pulled his pants up and told him great job not wetting his pants but make sure to tell me next time so we can find a better place… The other parents found it more humorous than I did.
I am afraid of the things that are in store for me as these boys get older but I wouldn’t trade a second of it for anything! They bring so much joy, laughter and love into my life. I don’t know how I ever lived without them. They are my ♡.

Leave a Reply

