Hot Shot

One cold morning a couple of weeks before Christmas I was drinking a cup of coffee and browsing facebook when I came across an ad that caught my attention. It said, “ISO transport for a horse. Really need him moved but can’t get him in my 2 horse trailer.” I don’t know why I was so interested in this ad but something drew me to it. I responded and offered my time, gas and trailer to haul him. It would only be a few miles and an hour or so out of my day. After talking to the lady i found out that the horse was one she had rescued and walked with for several miles because she was unable to load him. She found a dairy farm that had a holding pen and asked to leave him there temporarily and was now searching for transport. I happened to know the person who was holding the horse for her and drove out to take a look.

As i pulled into Billy’s driveway I spotted the gelding, later named Hot Shot. He curiously looked over the fence at me. He was skinny to put it nicely. I have been around horses for 28 of my 30 years and even though I could see every bone in his body,his feet were far too long and his coat was matted down, I saw potential. Underneath it all he had good confirmation. I soon learned that his curiosity probably stemmed from hunger. His so called rescuer had left him in a small holding pen with no hay and not even a drop of water, unless you count what happened to be falling from the sky that cold miserable day. I sure don’t. I knew that this horse was going to become the next member of the family, I just didn’t know what my husband would say…. I left Hot Shot with the promise of hay, grain and water within just a few minutes as I only lived about 10 minutes from where he was and I wouldn’t be able to bring him home until the next day.

I returned about 30 minutes later with his hay, grain and bucket for his water. While feeding him was messaging back and forth with his ‘rescuer’ and had informed her that in his deteriorated condition he was going to need proper vet care and lots of feed to make sure he would live. I told her that I would be happy to take him and nurse him back to health. She told me that she could not afford him and that he would be better off with me. I knew that and me telling her what he needed was a round about way of telling her that I would be taking him. There was NO way I would allow her to take him after she had left him for two days in a small pen with no food or water after ‘rescuing’ him….

The next morning I went over and loaded Hot Shot into the trailer. I already had a stall made up for him with a nice run so he could also get outside. When I unloaded him and lead him into his stall I removed his halter, petted him and softly told him he was safe now he let out a sigh. I like to think he somehow understood me and that the sigh meant he knew, that he felt safe.

The first couple of mornings i went out to feed i had to coax him into the barn but after that when he would hear me come out the front door of the house he would lift his head perk his ears and winney at me. It made me feel so good to know that he knew his belly was soon to be full. He knew he had someone to count on and that people were still trustworthy.

He has been here for several weeks now and has put on weight, been brushed, feet trimmed and wormed. He is now looking more like the eight year old horse that he is, not the 20 year old horse on the brink of death that he did. I would also like to mention that he is broke. He is an amazing horse with the sweetest disposition. I am so glad we found his sweet, gentle soul and made him ours. And I might also mention my husband whom i was worried about LOVES him! Remember, Family comes in all shapes, sizes and species, and may enter your lives rather unexpectedly. Give your heart and you may receive one in exchange, I know I did.

Leave a Reply

